Loomer House to celebrate 250 years in Canning

Published on July 19, 2013

The Loomer House - a provincially registered heritage property - will celebrate 250 years in Nova Scotia on July 21 from 1-4 p.m., when the current owners, Doug and Pam Hickman, invite everyone with an interest in the heritage of our province and our county to an open house at the property.


One of the oldest wooden houses in Canada, provincial records indicate that the Loomer House was originally constructed by Stephen Loomer in his hometown of New London, Connecticut. Loomer arrived in Nova Scotia sometime between 1760 and 1763 as a New England “Planter”, and provincial records indicate that he may have brought his house - or, at least, the frame - with him up the Bay of Fundy. 


The house has been extensively renovated inside and out over the past 20 years, but always in keeping with its heritage values and with the advice and support of the Heritage Program of the Government of Nova Scotia.  Among other things, repair work undertaken in recent years has identified that the frame of the house is oak, a wood commonly used in New England at the time but not commonly used in Nova Scotia and lending credence to the origin of the house.  Over the same time, the grounds of the property have undergone a substantial renovation that supports a wide range of fauna and flora, and which include at least one species listed as “endangered” in Canada as well as a unique “sunken garden”.


The Open House will include tours of the house and grounds, live music and refreshments.  All proceeds will be donated to the Fieldwood Heritage Society, which is also helping to organize the event - see the attached poster.  The property is located opposite the Canning Aboiteau Road at 9979 Highway 221, Canning.