TC•Media recognized for excellence at Newspapers Atlantic's Better Newspapers awards

Published on June 2, 2014

TC•Media community newspapers were awarded six Newspapers Atlantic awards on May 30.

The Better Newspapers awards were presented during the Newspapers Canada Ink and Beyond annual conference in Charlottetown, PEI. was named best website for its “timely and engaging editorial content.”

Kings County Advertiser/Register editor Jennifer Vardy Little was the winner in the best best page design category. Associate editor Jennifer Hoegg was also a finalist in that category.

The Yarmouth Vanguard’s Tina Comeau was named outstanding photographer, with the judge in her category stating, “She shows a wide range of skill in covering news and feature and sports events with an imaginative, artistic eye.” Other finalists in the category were Carole Morris-Underhill, editor of the Hants Journal, and Fred Hatfield, editor of the Vanguard.

Ashley Thompson, a reporter at the Hants Journal, was the winner of best sports story or feature for her story, “Gender rights petition wins over soccer association.”

Annapolis Spectator editor Larry Powell won the best national editorial category for his piece on Sedwick, Maine, which passed a law putting food production in the hands of local people.

Greg Bennett, editor of the Shelburne County Coast Guard, won best local editorial for his piece on proposed amalgamations of municipal units. Powell was also a finalist in this category.

“The talent of our reporters and editors in the small communities around the province can easily be seen on awards days like this recent one,” said regional editor Dave Glenen. “TC • Media is proud of the talent and the dedication these journalists have to the professional, their community and the company to continually strive for the best.”

Newspapers in the Nova Scotia weeklies chain were also standing finalists in a number of other categories, including the Kings County Advertiser staff and Comeau for best feature series; Hoegg and Comeau for outstanding journalist; Hoegg for best investigative story; Morris-Underhill for best photo; Hatfield for best sports photo; Queens County Advance reporter Brittany Verge for best photo essay; and the Shelburne Coast Guard’s Bennett, reporter Amy Woolvett and freelancer Kathy Johnstone for best news story.

Kings County Advertiser freelance writer Laurent d’Entremont was nominated for best general interest; Kings County Advertiser freelance writer Laura Churchill Duke received a nod for best specialty column and Hants Journal freelance photographer Aimee Alden was nominated for best feature photo.

The Yarmouth Vanguard was nominated in the best Christmas edition category and best community service, while the Digby Courier was a finalist in the general excellence category for its circulation class.